Why I Love Instagram

I like most of my fellow generational peers love visuals! Instagram was like a breath of fresh air for me. A couple years ago I was so annoyed with social media I considered going completed off the social grid. I grew tired of constantly seeing people complain over stumped toes or boast about their hourly Mary Jane consumption. I seriously contemplated whether or not our collective society was melting into a blob of gook. Then Instagram came along and I actually started liking my peers again! Instagram is the platform where you can avoid nonsensical opinions for the most part. Did I mention that I love hashtags like Jimmy Fallon and JT? You bet! When I first discovered the art of hash-tagging I thought it was cool to make a really long hashtag #IDoItBigWhatAboutYou #OhWaitImALoser. I love the experiential aspect of Instagram and its something I discussed today with Gathan Borden whom my group is proposing a social media campaign too. Mr. Borden is interested in what millennial’s are specifically attracted to. I wholeheartedly feel that young adults love living an experience and showcasing it to the world. Whether it be a 21st birthday sloppy extravaganza, a heart-pounding Zombie marathon run or watching Sam Smith belt out soulful sounds, millennial’s love to experience new and special things. Ever since the hippies in the 60’s migrated to San Francisco to join the flower power campaign, young adults have been gravitating towards experiential travel.

Here are some tips on how to make Instagram phone photos look like professional photography. 

I feel like most millennial’s are drifting towards an experiential journey that they can show off to the world. We are living in a time when posting the most widely acclaimed travel/event photo has became a competition of sorts. Millennial’s would have hated to go to 69′ Woodstock and not have the pleasure of producing that unique and personal Instagram snapshot. We all know in today’s society it never happened unless you shared a photo of it! Visual platforms like YouTube and the new heavy weight champ Instagram are creating ways for the average Joe Schmo’s to become Insta-Famous. I’ve made new friends to only later feel like I was touched by a celebrity after seeing their Instagram following. Instagram is a great platform for showing off things such as food, sporting events, festivals, brands, designs etc.. and it is revolutionizing how those industries are marketing/advertising. It’s hard for me to remember to tweet because I’m so concentrated on capturing that exclusive photo. I think the late great Steve Irwin would be proud of our observation skills!

Check out this video in honor of Valentine’s Day and Instagram. Keep searching because your Insta-Crush might be out there! My friend sent this to me as a joke, but I cant lie, I might have cried with a box of tissues and gorged on some Russell Stover chocolates when I heard it. #SoWhat

Happy Valentine’s Day! Make sure to share your special moment or it NEVER HAPPENED!

Leave a comment